Picture
I have had some health issues in the past that have led me to follow some pretty wacky diets. Think dairy-free, gluten-and-all-other-grain-free, sugar-free… basically “fun”-free! I found dinners and lunches to be pretty do-able, but breakfast was a real challenge, especially because breakfast is my favourite meal of the day. I was all doom and gloom, eating omelette after omelette, wondering when I would be able to eat waffles again when – lo and behold – I discovered the Eggy Pancake! This recipe changed my life. Well, at the very least, it changed my attitude toward a strict diet at breakfast time. You need:

2 eggs
Approx. 1 tablespoon of your favourite nut butter (peanut, almond, cashew…)
A pinch of baking soda (too much will make your pancake taste bitter)

THAT’S IT!

A few additions I’ve made over the years:
Approx. 1 tablespoon of ground flax seed
Approx. 2 tablespoons blueberries
½ teaspoon of cinnamon
Honey to drizzle on top

Combine these ingredients in a bowl and whisk them together so the consistency is smooth (those nut butter lumps can be a bit of a challenge sometimes). Heat a frying pan to med-low heat. Add a bit of butter, oil, or whatever butter substitute you use, and then pour the batter in the pan. Allow it to cook until you see little bubbles forming or until you peek at the underside and it looks golden, and then flip it over and finish cooking the other side (you may want to turn the heat down or off for the second side). You’ll be amazed to discover that you’ve just made a pancake without any flour of any kind whatsoever! I drizzle honey over mine. Yummy!!

This breakfast is super easy, packed with protein so you won’t be longing for a snack too quickly afterward, and gentle on the gut for all those food-sensitive people out there. I’ve passed this recipe on to many a soul who has thought I must be nuts only to become a believer shortly afterward. If you’re starving for breakfast ideas, give it a try!


_


Ina
2/20/2012 05:30:54 am

So just had the pancake for breakfast - made a double batch and we thought it was great, I do have a preference for almond butter these days, all great - one of my favorite breakfasts is 1/4 c. steel cut oats, with 3/4 c. water, a mixture of blueberries, raspberries and cranberries, cooked, then add some high acidophilus yogurt, hemp hearts, cinnamon, flax meal, and sometimes some high quality vanilla protein powder, flax oil, etc.

Reply



Leave a Reply.